Notes From the Underground

Darla Records is proud to offer the first digital and CD reissue of M.I.A.’s third record Notes from the Underground, originally released on National Trust Records, December, 1985. This reissue also includes the album premaster transferred from a studio board tape belonging guitarist/vocalist Nick Adams, which features previously unreleased alternate mixes of “Haven’t You Heard” and “Write Myself a Letter”.

“The much-improved Notes from the Underground leaves hardcore behind for a pretty fair Damned/TSOL-influenced punk LP with occasional acoustic guitar and even sax (on an anti-apartheid song). The hooks are occasionally a little too obvious, but “Another Day,” “Write Myself a Letter” and “Shadows of My Life” are first-rate punk-pop. Nick Adams’ wall of guitar dominates each of the ten tracks.” – Jack Rabid, Trouser Press

“One of the 50 best So-Cal punk bands of the great early-’80s second wave explosion.” – All Music Guide

Notes from the Underground was produced by renowned producer/engineer Thom Wilson who also produced the Adolescents’ classic self-titled debut album as well as the most popular albums by Dead Kennedys, T.S.O.L., Bad Religion, The Joykiller, Social Distortion, The Vandals, The Offspring, Christian Death, Automatic 7, Face to Face and The Bouncing Souls.

Track List:

1. Shadows of My Life
2. Voices in the Dark
3. Never Again
4. Show Me the Way
5. Scotty Rew
6. Write Myself a Letter
7. Light of Yesterday
8. Haven’t You Heard
9. Make a Choice
10. Another Day
11. Voices in the Dark (Studio Board Tape Premaster)
12. Scotty Rew (Studio Board Tape Premaster)
13. Never Again (Studio Board Tape Premaster)
14. Show Me the Way (Studio Board Tape Premaster)
15. Shadows of My Life (Studio Board Tape Premaster)
16. Write Myself A Letter (Studio Board Tape Premaster First Mix)
17. Write Myself A Letter (Studio Board Tape Premaster Second Mix)
18. Light of Yesterday (Studio Board Tape Premaster)
19. Haven’t You Heard (Studio Board Tape Premaster First Mix)
20. Haven’t You Heard (Studio Board Tape Premaster Second Mix)
21. Another Day (Studio Board Tape Premaster)
22. Make a Choice (Studio Board Tape Premaster)

Arranged by M.I.A.
Produced by Thom Wilson
Drums – Larry Pearson
Vocals – Michael Conley
Guitar, Vocals – Nick Adams
Bass – Paul Schwartz
Sax – Henry Alexander
Keyboards, Piano – Robert Windolph